Pre-Op Day

My pre-op appointment, which was scheduled with absolutely no input from me, was supposed to be on a Wednesday. Wednesdays and Thursdays are the most inconvenient days for me work wise. I travel every week for work, Tuesday-Thursday. Tuesdays I have some flexibility on what time I leave, but Wednesday and Thursdays are not flexible. Actually not traveling those days involves me trying to find someone to cover part of my job because someone needs to be present to cover it. Thankfully I at least had some advance notice so figure things out, and literally to train someone to cover my spot (also for the time I would be gone for surgery). What a hassle.

At the last minute they changed my appointment from Wednesday to Thursday. At that point it didn’t really matter I guess, because I already planned on not traveling that week. I am more just annoyed that there seems to be very little respect for the fact that people do have jobs and lives to schedule around. I totally understand that my health is way more important, but not having things change at the last minute would be great.

Anyway enough complaining. I went to my pre-op appointment on Thursday, and it wasn’t what I expected (whatever that was). Basically I went back to Dr. M’s office and he explained to me every single thing that could go wrong. I should also mention that my husband was not there with me. His boss was in town so he couldn’t come to the appointment. So there I sat, by myself, while he told me how my cyst might be attached to my bladder or my bowels causing damage, and that the cyst may rupture while they were trying to get it out. Not to worry though. Apparently they just wash everything out. He also said “it’s much easier to remove a cyst on the ovary if you remove the ovary and tube too”. UM WHAT!?! I’m not really interested in what might be “easier”. I would like to keep my ovary if at all possible thanks. I think it was just a poor choice of wording on his part. He did follow his statement by saying “of course the goal here is to have children so we are going to try our best to keep your ovary intact”. So at this point I was officially freaked the F out. I know they have to tell you the worst that can happen, but geez. I then had to sign my life away, acknowledging that he told me the information, and of course that I wouldn’t sue him if one of those terrible things happened to me.

After our fun little chat, it was time to get dressed up in one of those oh-so-stylish hospital gowns and hop back in the stirrups for another ultra sound. If only i could have my lady parts up on the “big screen” every day. And by “big screen” I mean the wall mounted TV in the exam room. Dr. M. confirmed my left ovary was in great shape and I had an egg about to release (it was day 14 of my cycle so it was right on), and my poor little right ovary was still being overtaken by the cyst. He also said from the ultra sound picture he was pretty sure it was a dermoid cyst. Before I left he handed me copies of all of the forms I had signed, three prescriptions to fill, and an ultra sound photo of my cyst. Of course I went home and immediately hung it on the fridge. OR NOT. Do people ask for these things? What is the purpose of having an ultra sound photo of this thing? Again, awkward.

Leave a Reply

