Infertile Holiday Cheer

I had intended on posting a pic of my adorable reindeer socks in the stirrups, but the picture was beyond terrible.  My legs are as pasty white and dry as can be thanks to the dry winter weather, and the angle was terrible, so I am going to pass on posting the pic, but I will tell you in my last three days in the stirrups for my ultrasound and 2 IUIs I was very festive.  Day one: snowflakes.  Day two: snowmen.  Day three (today): reindeer.  Last month I didn’t wear socks at all, mostly because I had been wearing ballet flats when I went in for my appointments.  This time, even on the day that I wasn’t wearing socks with my shoes, I stuffed a fun pair in my purse.  Truthfully I have had very little holiday cheer this year, so these last few days before Christmas I really am trying to step it up. 

Thursday when I went in for my ultrasound as I was going back the nurse sort of asked me/sort of told me I would be seeing Dr. M.  I was surprised because Dr. M was the only doctor at the clinic I had seen at all, ever.  He is my doctor.  The nurse explained to me since I was a “call in that morning to schedule bc of my positive LH” that I was scheduled to see the procedure doctor (for that day), Dr. A, but she was too busy so Dr. M agreed to do it.  I guess I sort of knew there was a chance I could see a different doctor, but I sort of had it in my head that it would only happen on a weekend if I had to go in, because not every Dr. works on the weekends.  Well for the last two days I for my actual IUI’s I had Dr. SA.  Not a fan.  My first IUI’s (done by Dr. M) weren’t exactly comfortable but not unpleasant either.  Dr. SA was much more rough, enough that I actually made a face both times.  His bedside manner was also not my favorite.  :-/

Between appointments (my husband’s drop off and my IUI), we went to Toy’s R US to Christmas shop for my step-son.  He is six, and there is honestly nothing in particular that he wants (other than a rainbow loom which his mother is getting for him).  We ended up picking out some crayola stuff, a video game for Wii, a board game,  and some stocking stuffers.  I have a few other things that I have picked out for him over the past month like new jammies and other little stuff.  We actually don’t get to celebrate with him until the 26th, because he went to SoCal with his mom.  We usually have him every weekend, but he left yesterday for SoCal, so we sort of don’t know what to do with ourselves all weekend.  We are going to to a nice dinner tonight at one of our favorite local restaurants, The Chef’s Table.  They have amazing fried chicken with bacon gravy.  I am very pumped. 

For now I am going to veg out on the couch and maybe do some wrapping later on.  Happy weekend.

One thought on “Infertile Holiday Cheer

Leave a Reply

