The Pre-Tox

In my last post I detailed my plan for refocusing my health over the next few months and hopefully lose some weight in the process. What I failed to mention was how I am/have been preparing for this very drastic change. Since I am a dork I am calling it the Pre-Tox (Pre-Detox).

Step one: Indulge

The week of Christmas I literally consumed anything and everything I wanted. This included unlimited beverages (lattes, soda, cocktails/beer/wine) and treats. For me that was a lot of chocolate, cheesecake, and rice krispy treats! I initially took this approach because I wanted to get a “last taste” of some things that I wouldn’t be having for a while, but it actually was great because after a few days I was totally sick of junk food and I was actually craving to be healthy.

Step Two: Cut back

The week after Christmas was kind of weird because I was traveling for most of it, but I made a conscious effort to scale back (significantly) junk food and caffeine. I limited myself to only one serving of caffeine per day. I would say before I was having 3-4 servings per day so this was a big improvement. I also drank a lot of water and Gatorade because we were at a higher elevation and it was definitely having an effect on me.   Thankfully my husband’s parents were up for cooking most of our meals but we did go out to eat a few times on the trip. When we went out to eat I ordered what I wanted from the menu (I was on vacation after all!). The drive home is pretty brutal as far as food choices go because the only choices are fast food. Even in times of my worst eating I am not big on most fast food. Occasionally I will have In-and-Out Burger or Chick-fil-a but that is a very infrequent splurge. The only choices on our drive back were Taco Bell, McDonalds, or Burger King. I will tell you the Tacos I had only made me want to eat heathier that much more. Sunday I started my day with a really wonderful vanilla latte from Starbucks, and I relished every moment because I knew it was my last one for a long time.

Step Three: The Real Preparation

Monday I officially cut out all caffeine, dairy, and gluten. I’ve actually done a good job of being like 85% already on Whole30. Actually all I have had in the last four days that doesn’t qualify for Whole30 is some gluten free multi-seed almond and brown rice crackers, quinoa, soy sauce, and Worchester sauce. I have also started to cut back on meat in preparation for my juice cleanse, and today I am not eating meat at all. Also in preparation I started having 1-2 juices per day. I’ve started every day with a green juice and had something a little fruitier in the afternoon for a pick-me-up.

I won’t lie….the first two days were not fun. Day two was the worst. My headache came on around 10 am and stuck with me all day, despite how much peppermint essential oil I slathered on. I was cranky and had zero energy. I seriously could have gone to bed at 7. Even though I felt full after meals I had this feeling that something was missing. My brain was trying to trick my body into thinking it was hungry even though I had just had a meal!

Day three I expected to suffer just as much as day two. Actually sort of figured I would be pretty miserable until the end of next week when my body adjusted. I was pleasantly surprised that I felt great all day yesterday! No headache all day! And I had a good amount of energy, which was a blessing because I needed to do quite a bit of work in the kitchen last night to prepare for today.

Today I woke up feeling awesome! I was actually kind of giddy this morning and had way more energy! This is so encouraging for what is ahead and I am totally shocked that I feel so great right now.

A few things that really have helped me through these few days in case you are interested:

Sleep- There have been plenty of times in my life I have gone to bed with a headache only to wake up with next morning with a migraine. I was very afraid of this happening this week, but I made sure to get 8 hours every night, and even on my worst day I at least woke up feeling good.

A warm/hot bath with essential oils- Never underestimate the power of a good soak. It really helped me relax and I think even release some toxins. On Tuesday after work it was a lifesaver. I soaked in a combo of Eucalyptus and peppermint oil.

Oranges-A few orange slices after a meal has been a great way to keep my body from craving sugar. I figured that the extra vitamin C during cold and flu season can’t hurt either!

Peppermint Essential Oil- Admittedly I am obsessed with this stuff anyway, but since I will absolutely not take a pill while I’m doing this (unless I actually get a migraine then I cannot hold to that promise), this is all I have for headache relief. It made my headaches on Monday and Tuesday manageable which was so appreciated.

Lemon water- On Sunday I thinly sliced a lemon and each morning I throw a few slices in my water bottle. I have a hard time chugging straight up water in the morning and this has helped a ton! I am managing to get down about 64 oz just at work (and of course peeing every 10 minutes!)

Peppermint Tea- I drink peppermint tea pretty regularly, but usually with raw honey. This week I tried it without honey, and while it’s not as good I can still drink it and it gives me that sensation of having something warm in the morning. It also helps with the #2s (which is a huge issue for me to begin with) and sans coffee in my life I can use all the help I can get in that department!

A few things I am going to have to get a handle on for this to work for the next month:

The dishes- OH EM GEE! I don’t like dishes to begin with, but this style of cooking is pretty intense with the dishes. Last night I made fresh juice, hardboiled eggs, veggie stir fry, sweet potato hash, and dinner (which was ground bison to have Mexican food style). I ran my dishwasher twice from the time I got home from work until I went to bed. And I washed like 4 pans, some of them more than once! It was a lot of dishes. Also packing food to work every day creates its own set of overwhelming dishes to do!

The prep- I actually did a pretty decent job of prepping stuff on Sunday but there are just some things you can’t do ahead of time. I have a feeling ill be using my food processor a lot more but that just creates more dishes! I’m sure I will get a system down eventually to cut back on dishes and simplify/shorten the prep!

Meal planning- I have had the best intentions to meal plan a head of time for the last like…5 years…and its happened probably four times. Now it is a must! Shopping for and prepping for the Whole30 will require planning. A friend who has done Whole30 recommended Nom Nom Paleo’s app, which I can say is worth every penny of the $6 it cost. I am very impressed that it actually has a category for just Whole30 recipes. Love that! And they look really good!

Tonight I am going to Pressed Juicery to pick up my cleanse. I am actually excited. My husband will be gone for the weekend so I will mostly get to relax and keep it low key. I am supposed to work in the nursery on Sunday morning at church and I am a little worried about that. I also need to do some shopping and prepping on Sunday. Hopefully I’ve got the energy!

5 thoughts on “The Pre-Tox

  1. I’m adding warm lemon water to my routine. It’s supposed to help with digestion and regularity. I’ve also been reading about unfiltered apple cider vinegar as a detox. I’ve ordered some and am waiting for it to be delivered.

    I’m happy you’re doing such detailed posts! This is inspirational!

    • I am so glad you like details. I am sort of doing it to just journal what is happening, and to keep accountability! I plan to do a detailed post after the juice weekend too.
      I have read you can do apple cider vinegar in a detox bath. What application for detox have you read?

      • Drinking it! Like a shot every morning. Some people add honey. I like vinegar so I’m going to try doing a straight shot of it. We shall see…

Leave a Reply

