Day 27 and 28

Day 27- 10 people I would invite to dinner and why

I find this to be a sort of odd topic. Am I supposed to pick famous people? People who are no longer with us? I am not sure where to go with this one, so instead I am going to tell you about one of my favorite dinners ever, which happened to be with 10 other people (plus my husband and I).

My husband turned 40 in 2013. I spent nearly 9 months planning a super weekend in Napa/Sonoma with 5 other couples. We rented an amazing villa in Sonoma which perfectly housed all 12 of us. As a thank you to everyone coming up to help him/us celebrate I really wanted to host a nice dinner for everyone. I did a lot of research on restaurants in the area (and if you have ever been there you know it’s pricey!). I few months before the trip I went to a winery in Sonoma with my husband and in-laws and they were advertising private dinner’s at the winery. I had actually had lunch there years prior and it was excellent so I decided to look into it. It turned out to be the most cost effective solution. The dinner was actually several courses paired with wines and I felt like the biggest question mark on my budget was going to be the alcohol so this solved the problem since it was all included!

The night of the dinner I didn’t tell anyone in our group what was going on but I made everyone dress up. We arrived at the winery around 6, and of course the winery portion was already closed. Everyone was really in a panic thinking I had made a mistake. I went up and met with the food manager briefly and then led everyone into the dining room. In the middle of the room was a table with 12 place settings, a meat and cheese spread displayed as we walked in, a beautiful fire place, and a waitress handing us all glasses of wine. Everyone was in shock. All they could say was “This is just for us? There is no one else here? Just us!” It was perfect.

The dinner lasted nearly 4 hours. We had great conversation and everyone even went around the table and said something about their relationship with my husband. The food was, of course, amazing. They even printed custom menus for us. I cannot think of a more perfect dinner for 12.

Day 28- Do I have a regret

Looking back on my life I made some choices that I know now weren’t right. I was in relationships that now seem like such mistakes. Sometimes I wish I would have just gone to the college I wanted to go to right out of high school instead of letting my parents make the decision for me, and then later transferring. I wonder how that might have changed my college experience. I look back on time in my life and just wish I had handled them differently. But I don’t know that I would be the person I am today if I had not made those choices, been in those relationships, and learned so much from my decisions. Accountability for your actions is really important to me. If you are going to pick a path I think you need to just own it and hold yourself responsible for the repercussions. And if it doesn’t work the way you thought I think you have to figure it out.

Life is full of a lot of big decisions. Jobs, marriages, kids, health, and so on. There is really no way out of making these decisions and sometimes things just might not work out. The only think you can do is learn from it and move forward.

2 thoughts on “Day 27 and 28

  1. Oh my, I love the dinner!! That sounds so unbelievably amazing! And, I love what you said about accountability for one’s actions. I am a firm believer that we are responsible for our own decisions and the consequences and I think accountability is a huge part of that.

Leave a Reply

