My Whole30 Kitchen: Recipe-Kalua Pork

After finally getting over the stomach flu I am going to start Whole30 round 2 this weekend. I cleaned out my fridge last night and got some pork out of the freezer. I like to start this meal on Saturday since it has to cook for 16 hours, the timing can be tricky as to when to start so you don’t end up having to get up in the middle of the night to put it away when it’s done cooking. I have actually done this before and it’s not super fun, so if you can time it to finish on Sunday around noon it works out perfectly.

I am sharing this recipe first because not only is it absolutely delish, it’s also only 4 ingredients, incredibly simple to make, and can be used in a number of different ways. One of the keys for my first Whole30 was to make ahead a protein on the weekend that would last until at least Wednesday. This really cut down on the time I had to spend in the kitchen during the week, which was a huge plus since I generally don’t get home from work until around 6pm.

This particular meat is good by itself with a steamed or roasted veggie on the side, or in a lettuce bowl which could be paired with avocado, tomato, and Whole30 friendly salsa for a Mexi-style dish. I also added it in to an egg frittata with some other veggies. You can also throw it on a salad or use it in an omelet.

This recipe is from Nom Nom Paleo. There IPad app was essential in my Whole30 success. I highly recommend spending the $7, or just buying the whole cook book which is also amazing.

Recipe:

Ingredients

3-5 slices of bacon

5 lb Boston Butt pork roast (bone in or out)

1 ½ tablespoons of Hawaiian Sea Salt (kosher salt will also work)

5 Garlic cloves (we used more like 10-12)

Directions:

Line the bottom of the crock pot with bacon

Stuff the pork with the garlic cloves

Evenly salt every nook of the pork

Place the pork on top of the bacon in the crockpot

Cook on low for 16 hours (do not add any liquid)

After it has cooked for 16 hours remove it from the crockpot and use two forks to shred (do not shred in the crock pot)

Taste and if you wish to add seasoning spoon some liquid from the crockpot over the meat

Enjoy

To reheat:

The best way I have found to reheat is by steaming. This keeps it the juiciest. You can also use a microwave, or reheat in a skillet with a little bit of olive oil. The skillet method will give it a little bit of a crispy quality kind of like carnitas which is good if you are using it for lettuce tacos!

6 thoughts on “My Whole30 Kitchen: Recipe-Kalua Pork

  1. Saw you joined “Our Greatest Desire’s” Facebook group! I’m on there too! Although I’m not anonymous there. You’ll recognize me by my profile pic. It’s black and white, we are sitting on an old car with three pups. You’ll see them on the cover too. The English Bulldog is my favorite though. So glad you joined! I’m excited. 🙂

    • YAY! It will be my second one, but I have been in need of the motivation to start up again! I know you have made AMAZING progress toward your weight loss goals and I am super proud of you! I am going try to post w30 stuff on my blog a few times a week for the next few weeks! YAY so happy you are doing this!

Leave a Reply

