My Whole30 Kitchen-Paleo Mayo

When I am not doing Whole30 I actually rarely eat Mayo, but since there are so few options for “cold lunches” I rely on Tuna and Chicken Salad for days that I am traveling for work.  Here is my recipe for Paleo Mayo.  Even though I have made it several times it can still be tricky and every now and then it totally fails, so if you don’t get it on the first time don’t feel bad.

Ingredients:

1 yolk of a large egg

1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

½ teaspoon white vinegar

½ teaspoon Dijon mustard (make sure it does not have sugar in it!)

¼ teaspoon kosher salt

¾ cup avocado oil

You NEED an immersion blender for this.   I tried it with a whisk and good ole elbow grease once, and my arm almost fell off and it never thickened properly. I also tried using a mini food processor and that didn’t work either.

You will also need a tall container with a width of about 4”. I have a Kitchen Aid brand immersion blender (purchased at Target) that came with the perfect container for this. You need something that is wide enough to fit the head of the blender but will keep the ingredients from spreading out to far. I would not go over 4”.

Place all ingredients EXCEPT for the oil in the bottom of the container. Place the head of the immersion blender into the bottom of the container and blend on high speed for about 30 seconds-1 minute until the ingredients create an emulsion.

Slowly start adding oil into your emulsion. I usually start with a very small drizzle. Continue to add more every 30 seconds or so in small quantities. You should see the mixture thicken and turn white when you are about half way through adding the oil. Do not add it in too fast. As you add more oil move the blender up and down slowly to keep everything mixing in.

When you have finished adding in the last bit you should be left with a thick white mayo. Store in an airtight container in the fridge for 7-10 days.

You can add in different things to make aioli blends, use in chicken or tuna salad, or this is the base for paleo “ranch” dressings.

One thought on “My Whole30 Kitchen-Paleo Mayo

  1. Pingback: My Whole 30 Kitchen-Rescuing Broken Homemade Mayo | Meant to be Mommy

Leave a Reply

