My Whole 30 Kitchen- The Oil Cleansing Method

I should probably rename this series in my blog to my Whole30 life because this post is actually more about skin care than food, but I am just going to go with it.  Most of the homemade skin products I have switched to include ingredients from the kitchen, including this one!

Originally I had planned to switch out my normal face cleaning/toning/moisturizing routine when I ran out of my current products. I currently use Murad and have been for probably 7 years. I initially chose this particular brand because I loved the moisturizer. It was so light and didn’t leave my face feeling oily or gross. It is going to be hard to switch away from a product that I love so much but I am going to give it a go.

The oil cleansing method (OCM) is a way of cleaning your face with oil. This may seem a little counter-intuitive and the thought of applying oil directly to your face probably makes you cringe a little, but for the next thirty days I am going to try it out. The basic principal is that oil dissolves oil. The routine goes like this:

To be done at night:

Apply Oil mixture to face in a circular pattern. You do not need to remove make up first and this will remove it for you.

Use steam by placing a hot cloth over your face until it cools

Use the cloth to wipe away excess oil

There are a bunch of different blend recipes and it will likely take a little time to find what is right for my skin. I have pretty normal skin. I get blemishes about once a month a few days before my period comes but otherwise my skin isn’t overly oily or overly dry.

The standard mixture is 1 part astringent oil and 3 parts conditioning oil. This can be adjusted based on your skin type (less conditioning oil for oily skin and more for dry skin).

Astringent oils include castor oil and hazelnut oil. Conditioning Oils are Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Sweet Almond Oil, Jojoba Oil, Avocado Oil, and Coconut Oil.

For my first time I started with the 1:3 ratio (castor and EVOO) and added in some Young Living Lavender oil which is good for all skin types to soothe and calm skin. There are many other essential oils that are beneficial depending on skin type.

When I was done my skin felt very clean. There was no oil residue and when I woke up this morning my face felt a little more dry than normal. Tonight I will add more conditioning oil to my blend and see what happens. I also plan to add some tea tree oil. This oil is antibacterial and can help regulate oil production.

I have read different views on doing this twice a day (morning and night) but for my first week my routine will be to only do it at night and just rinse of with water in the shower in the morning.

Also most of the blogs I read did say to expect my complexion to get worse before it gets better.  This is an effect of my skin being detoxed of all the chemicals.  It was good to have this information in advance to know that I should expect a week or so of more blemishes than normal.  The detox time should coincide perfectly with my period when my face is broken out anyway so it probably won’t be different than normal.

I took a (really unflattering) photo of my face up close last night so I can compare in 30 days. If this works out not only will I be eliminating chemicals being absorbed into my body daily, but it will also save me quite a bit of money. Currently I use a face wash, toner, moisturizer, eye cream, and night cream. These products easily cost $400-$500 per year. I estimate a year supply of the oils required for this to be under $100. Big Win.

Let’s see what happens in 30 days!

4 thoughts on “My Whole 30 Kitchen- The Oil Cleansing Method

    • Dawn I want to see what happens in the next week with getting the oil mixture right before I go to a moisturizer, but I will for sure consider coconut oil and someone from my office was just talking about frankincense today!

Leave a Reply

