In the Right Direction

For the past few months, while I have been wonderfully busy enjoying life, seeing family, and traveling, my overall physical health was going the wrong direction. Finally in September when things slowed down I was so disappointed in myself that I had let all my hard work from the first part of the year just dwindle away. Four weeks ago or so I started to really change the way I was eating my meals. I finally got back to prepping on Sundays and was mostly eating three healthy non-processed meals per day. But I was still snacking on really unhealthy foods in between and still eating out a bit too much (even if I was mostly getting salads). The scale wasn’t changing and I was feeling so sluggish and somedays I even needed a nap after work. If I had things to get done I would have to roll thru the Starbucks drive thru on my way home for a VENTI latte just to have the energy to finish the day. That is really no way to live.

Finally last week on Tuesday I decided to take my sugar and caffeine demons head on. It was time to stop snacking and cut WAY back on the coffee (or caffeine of any kind). The first few days were rough. I was exhausted, cranky and suffering from a serious withdrawal headache….and the bloat….OMG the bloat. I was/am still drinking a 2 shot latte first thing in the morning (that I make myself) with about 5% of the sugar that is in a Sbux drink and that’s it. The only other sugar in my diet has been fruit.

Over the weekend things finally turned in the right direction. Sunday I woke up with boundless energy. Before 7 am I was bouncing around the house getting tons of things accomplished (and I am not a morning person usually). I accomplished before noon what I usually do in an entire weekend. But it didn’t stop there. We had a lovely family bike ride in the afternoon, followed by some basketball with my stepson. Even at 8:30pm as I stood in the kitchen preparing my lunch for today I still had energy.

I woke up this morning feeling just as great. I was literally wiping down our appliances with stainless steel cleaner as I waited for my coffee to finish. When I did make my way to the scale I had lost 1.2 lbs since last Wednesday. The first loss since April.

In other exciting news I am starting Acupuncture tomorrow! I am going to a clinic which does only Acupuncture for fertility and pregnancy. I have heard very good things about them. I am a little nervous about how I am going to fit this into my schedule every week (esp since the clinic is like 40 mins from work) and how expensive it is, but I think it’s important and hopefully they will be able to help me out with end of day appointments.

While I have needed to get my act together for a while now, the realization that IVF is 5 months away really hit me last week. The time is really going to fly, especially with the holidays mixed in. Honestly this whole year has gone really fast. Now it’s time to keep my eye on the prize and stay motivated to be as healthy as possible in anticipation of IVF!

2 thoughts on “In the Right Direction

Leave a Reply

