Three is a Special Number—Part Two

Three is a Special Number—Part Two

The night before our transfer appointment I lay in bed, mind racing to what I imagined were all the possible outcomes of the next morning. Obviously worst case scenario was that I would show up to be told none of my embryos made it. Best case would be that they were all going strong and I might even have one to freeze. Eventually I feel asleep and actually slept through the night.

Walking into the clinic on Tuesday morning I took a few deep breaths and reminded myself that I did everything I could, and it was out of my hands.

Dr. C, the acupuncturist, met us in the waiting area and headed back to the transfer room to set up for my pre-transfer acupuncture session.

We were called back to meet with Dr. S for our pre-transfer consult meeting. This was the moment. We sat across from him at his desk while he read us the embryology report from our chart. First he went over what we already knew. 5 eggs retrieved, 4 mature, 3 fertilized normally.

And then he held up a photo of our three day three embabies. All of which were still growing and dividing. I was honestly really surprised, and so very grateful that they all made it. All of them. Two of them were 6 cell grade B, and one was 5 cell grade A.

So here is the crazy part. Both the embryologist and the doctor recommended we transfer all of them. Three. This was absolutely not on my radar as a possibility.

The doctor went on to explain that if they were to transfer two, it would be the six cell embryos because they were a little further along than the 5 cell, however the 5 cell was actually a better embryo. Because the 5 cell was lagging behind a bit (they like to see three day transfers at 6-8 cells), statistically it would have a better chance of continuing to grow in my uterus rather than in the dish. Because 8 cell embryos have the best odds of implanting on day three, they advised that we transfer all of them given that the other two were only at six cells.

Of course he addressed the risk of multiples, which he advised that our chances of getting pregnant at all were around 50%, our chances of having twins was 30-40%, and our chances of having triplets was 1%. So we went for it.

We signed the consent forms and the Doctor called the lab. I was taken back to the transfer room where Dr. C was ready for my acupuncture. I also took a valium on the way. I highly recommend acupuncture on the day of transfer. It (along with the valium) kept me very calm and happy.

The transfer itself went very quickly. The only uncomfortable part about it was that my bladder was full. It was fun to watch on the ultrasound screen as my little embabies made their entrance.

Afterwards they make you sit for 10 minutes before you can empty your bladder. Thankfully the embryologist came in to talk to us during that time which made it go very quickly. He basically confirmed everything Dr. S had told us earlier. I also asked him about any observations about egg quality. He reviewed my chart and confirmed that they did not see anything abnormal with my egg quality which was so great to hear. He also said that once inside the uterus 5 and 6 cell embryos can make it to 8 cells in an hour or so once they are settled.

He also mentioned that the potential of each embryo is decided at fertilization. He went over all of the things that could happen from here, from becoming a healthy baby, to chemical pregnancy, miscarriage, and failure to implant. It was just a reminder that it is still a long road after a positive beta. He also strongly advised against taking a HPT before beta, which I am going to try very hard not to do.

After I was able to pee Dr. C came in for my post transfer acupuncture appointment. Dr. C is not my normal acupuncturist but he owns the clinic I go to and I had met him a few times. I was immediately comfortable with him and we had a good chat while he placed the needles.

My clinic requires bedrest for the day of transfer, which I had no problem adhering too. I actually had a wonderful valium induced nap when I got home.

Today I am back at work but really taking it easy. I have also started making myself what I call an implantation smoothie every day with pineapple core, Brazil nuts, banana, coconut butter, and clementine. I have also been having at least half an avocado every day and drinking electrolyte water.

My beta is on Easter, which is the perfect day to find out if any of my beautiful little embabies have implanted.

Again thank you all for the love and support. I am so grateful for all of the comments.

The night before our transfer appointment I lay in bed, mind racing to what I imagined were all the possible outcomes of the next morning. Obviously worst case scenario was that I would show up to be told none of my embryos made it. Best case would be that they were all going strong and I might even have one to freeze. Eventually I feel asleep and actually slept through the night.

Walking into the clinic on Tuesday morning I took a few deep breaths and reminded myself that I did everything I could, and it was out of my hands.

Dr. C, the acupuncturist, met us in the waiting area and headed back to the transfer room to set up for my pre-transfer acupuncture session.

We were called back to meet with Dr. S for our pre-transfer consult meeting. This was the moment. We sat across from him at his desk while he read us the embryology report from our chart. First he went over what we already knew. 5 eggs retrieved, 4 mature, 3 fertilized normally.

And then he held up a photo of our three day three embabies. All of which were still growing and dividing. I was honestly really surprised, and so very grateful that they all made it. All of them. Two of them were 6 cell grade B, and one was 5 cell grade A.

So here is the crazy part. Both the embryologist and the doctor recommended we transfer all of them. Three. This was absolutely not on my radar as a possibility.

The doctor went on to explain that if they were to transfer two, it would be the six cell embryos because they were a little further along than the 5 cell, however the 5 cell was actually a better embryo. Because the 5 cell was lagging behind a bit (they like to see three day transfers at 6-8 cells), statistically it would have a better chance of continuing to grow in my uterus rather than in the dish. Because 8 cell embryos have the best odds of implanting on day three, they advised that we transfer all of them given that the other two were only at six cells.

Of course he addressed the risk of multiples, which he advised that our chances of getting pregnant at all were around 50%, our chances of having twins was 30-40%, and our chances of having triplets was 1%. So we went for it.

We signed the consent forms and the Doctor called the lab. I was taken back to the transfer room where Dr. C was ready for my acupuncture. I also took a valium on the way. I highly recommend acupuncture on the day of transfer. It (along with the valium) kept me very calm and happy.

The transfer itself went very quickly. The only uncomfortable part about it was that my bladder was full. It was fun to watch on the ultrasound screen as my little embabies made their entrance.

Afterwards they make you sit for 10 minutes before you can empty your bladder. Thankfully the embryologist came in to talk to us during that time which made it go very quickly. He basically confirmed everything Dr. S had told us earlier. I also asked him about any observations about egg quality. He reviewed my chart and confirmed that they did not see anything abnormal with my egg quality which was so great to hear. He also said that once inside the uterus 5 and 6 cell embryos can make it to 8 cells in an hour or so once they are settled.

He also mentioned that the potential of each embryo is decided at fertilization. He went over all of the things that could happen from here, from becoming a healthy baby, to chemical pregnancy, miscarriage, and failure to implant. It was just a reminder that it is still a long road after a positive beta. He also strongly advised against taking a HPT before beta, which I am going to try very hard not to do.

After I was able to pee Dr. C came in for my post transfer acupuncture appointment. Dr. C is not my normal acupuncturist but he owns the clinic I go to and I had met him a few times. I was immediately comfortable with him and we had a good chat while he placed the needles.

My clinic requires bedrest for the day of transfer, which I had no problem adhering too. I actually had a wonderful valium induced nap when I got home.

Today I am back at work but really taking it easy. I have also started making myself what I call an implantation smoothie every day with pineapple core, Brazil nuts, banana, coconut butter, and clementine. I have also been having at least half an avocado every day and drinking electrolyte water.

My beta is on Easter, which is the perfect day to find out if any of my beautiful little embabies have implanted.  I am hoping for a very calm TWW (by that I am hoping I don’t drive myself crazy).

Again thank you all for the love and support. I am so grateful for all of the comments.

10 thoughts on “Three is a Special Number—Part Two

  1. I have so much hope for your family! Praying for a positive beta and a happy and healthy pregnancy….guess you definitely won’t be in Vegas over Easter now! 😉 Sending you lots of love and huge hugs, my Friend!!!

Leave a Reply

