Checking In

Hello! So sorry for my unexpected break from blogging the last few weeks. Truthfully I have been slammed at work and way too exhausted to do anything when I’m not working. Thankfully that seems to be getting a little better. At least I made it to 9pm without a nap yesterday which is something.

Since my last ultrasound at 8 weeks 2 days I have met with the nurse practitioner at my OBs office and done a bunch of lab work. The nurse gave me tons of information, which I have been slowly reading as I have the energy. This Friday I will see my actual doctor and get another ultrasound. I will be `10 weeks 6 days at that appointment. I plan to tell my work the following week when my boss is in town assuming the appointment goes well and the babies are still doing great.

In the meantime I am doing lots of research on baby products and twin baby products. I am going to register in June, which seems really early, except I need to have everything totally ready to go by the end of September (30 weeks).

My mom is throwing me a family shower in Colorado in July and my friends are throwing me a local shower in September. We are in the process of getting the guest room converted into a nursery, and the current playroom converted into a guest room. My part is this is basically organizing or purging all of the random things stored in the nursery and telling my husband where to move furniture. We are also recarpeting the main living room of our house which desperately needs to be done before we have babies crawling on it. A new dishwasher will be a must purchase item before the babies come as well.

I have bought a few things for the nursery but it still feels a little strange to do so. This weekend we are going to purchase a second crib after my appointment as well to match the one we have (because it is on sale right now).

My mom has been really awesome and already sent me baby clothes. She pretty much asks me weekly when we find out the genders. It’s great to see how excited she has been.

Outside of all things baby we are headed to Kansas for Memorial Day weekend! We are going to celebrate my grandma’s 90th birthday and it’s my 15 year high school reunion (OMG I’m getting old). 2015 was the first year in my entire life I did not go back to Kansas. I am sure some of my family members weren’t thrilled about that, but my dad came to visit us last year, and I spent most of the previous summer there when my dad was sick. It is so hard to balance everything when I have so little vacation time and I really do feel guilty about it. I am really looking forward to this trip so I hope it all goes smoothly.

I hope everyone is doing well and I will try to update after my appointment on Friday! XOXO

4 thoughts on “Checking In

  1. I’m happy to hear you’re doing well and some of the exhaustion may be subsiding a little. I hope you have a wonderful time in Kansas! I wish it was just a little closer to WI so I could hop over and see you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

